Lewis Hamilton wins his 11th victory in Formula 1 season at the Bahrain GP

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Last Updated on November 29, 2020 by admin

This article contains hide

Lewis Hamilton cruised to the 11th victory of his title-winning Formula 1 season at the Bahrain GP, which was overshadowed by Romain Grosjean’s terrifying and fiery accident.

Grosjean miraculously escaped with minor burns and injuries after his Haas pierced the barriers, ripped in half and burst into flames on the first lap of the race, leading to a red flag and delay of over an hour.

The Frenchman, who somehow clambered out of his cockpit while it was engulfed in flames before being rescued by marshals and FIA medical officials, was transported to hospital via helicopter where he is undergoing further evaluation.

Sky F1’s Martin Brundle and Damon Hill said it was a “miracle” Grosjean was alive after the crash.

Drivers were visibly shaken watching footage of the accident, but Hamilton – who said he was “so grateful that Romain was safe” – was typically controlled and dominant when the race got back underway.

Following an immediate Safety Car after the restart as Lance Stroll’s Racing Point was flipped by Daniil Kvyat, pole-sitter Hamilton was rarely troubled in the Mercedes – with Max Verstappen his only rival for victory.

Verstappen finished second for Red Bull after three pit-stops, with Valtteri Bottas only eighth after suffering an early puncture following the dramatic opening laps.

Alex Albon completed the podium as Sergio Perez was cruelly denied a third place he held for the majority of the floodlit race. Perez, who has been in superb F1 2020 form and is targeting Albon’s Red Bull seat for next year, was four seconds ahead of Albon when he suffered an engine failure with just three laps remaining.

The race finished behind the Safety Car after Perez’s issue, with Red Bull sealing their first double podium since 2017.

McLaren impressed on Sunday after a disappointing qualifying, securing fourth and fifth through Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz, which puts them ahead of Racing Point in the constructors’ battle for third.

Renault also lost ground to McLaren, securing only seventh and ninth through Daniel Ricciardo and Esteban Ocon, while Ferrari only scored one point after a miserable evening under the lights for Charles Leclerc and Sebastian Vettel.

Bahrain GP Race Result

1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2. Max Verstappen, Red Bull
3. Alex Albon, Red Bull
4. Lando Norris, McLaren
5. Carlos Sainz, McLaren
6. Pierre Gasly, AlphaTauri
7. Daniel Ricciardo, Renault
8. Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes
9. Esteban Ocon, Renault
10. Charles Leclerc, Ferrari

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *